Virginia Guaranteed Assistance Program (VGAP)

Application Process

Submit your final high school transcript with your College student ID# and write VGAP on it, or, if home schooled, a document showing your completion of the requirements, with your College student ID# and write VGAP on it, to the Financial Aid Office. 


In order to be eligible for an award, a student must:

  1. Be admitted into a Virginia public two or four year college or university;
  2. Be enrolled full-time in an approved degree, certificate, or diploma program;
  3. Be a domiciliary resident of Virginia as defined by the Code of Virginia §23.1-502;
  4. Demonstrate financial need as determined by the institution;
  5. Be a graduate from a Virginia high school or complete a program of home school instruction in accordance with §22.1-254.1 (students who obtain a GED are not eligible);
  6. Have at least a cumulative high school grade point average of 2.5 on a 4.0 scale (or its equivalent);
  7. If a home school completer: achieve a SAT verbal and math combined score of at least 980 or ACT Composite score of at least 19; and
  8. Have complied with federal selective service registration requirements, if applicable.


The actual awards will vary by institution; however, those students found to be in the neediest category will receive awards of at least tuition. The maximum award is the cost of tuition, required fees, and a book allowance. Limit of one year of award per class level.


Awards may be renewed for up to three additional years provided that the student:

  • Continues to be enrolled full-time in an eligible program on or after the term’s census date;
  • Continues to be a domiciliary residency in Virginia;
  • Continues to demonstrate financial need;
  • Maintains a grade point average of at least 2.0 on a 4.0 scale, or its equivalent;
  • Maintains the satisfactory academic progress; and
  • Has advanced class levels upon completion of each full year of award received (VGAP is restricted to no more than one year – 12 months – per class level – FR, SO, JR, SR).